A new law has taken effect in Nevada that requires all DUI offenders to obtain an ignition interlock device.
The device is attached to a vehicle and checks a drivers sobriety before the car will start.
Before the law was passed by the 2017 Legislature, the ignition interlock device was up to the judge to order.
According to the Office of Traffic Safety, the mandatory interlock was proposed because it has proven to dramatically decrease DUI cases in other states.
In Arizona and West Virginia, the decrease was up to 50 percent. New Mexico saw a 38 percent decrease.
If a person’s breath measures more than .02 percent alcohol, the car won’t start. Officials said the machines also take a photograph of the person blowing into the machine.
Violations or tampering with the device could mean up to 6 months in jail or a fine of up to $1,000.